leave this world behind

I arrive late to see you here, and notice the makeup, bare shoulders and Sunday dress.
You’re glad to see me, the two of us and ask do I look good, ruffle my hair, I protest.

I should have grabbed that hand and pulled you close, so close
our lips will touch and bridge the distance that separates us,
like a delicate hand on an elbow, they will understand,
like a Picoult novel stashed under the desk, surprise,
like black tracery on white flesh, suggest,
like hands clasped together, pray,
like pilgrims who lose their way,

in a maze of well meaning glances,
the rain will stop its pitterpatter,
the PCs will beep and fall silent,
the lights will swish and dim,
and breathlessly, we
click, click, click,
leave this world
behind.

Nov 05 2010 edit


I arrive late and see you and your makeup,
bare shoulders and Sunday dress.
You are glad. To see me, the two of us, and ask
do I look good, ruffle my hair, I protest.

I grab the hand and pull you close,
oh so close our lips will touch and
destroy distance like a hand on elbow,
spell D-E-S-I-R-E as plainly as black tracery on white flesh,
surprise, like a Picoult novel stashed under the desk,
pray, like hands clasped together,
lose their way, in a maze of well meaning glances,

the rain will cease,
the PCs will whir and beep and fall silent,
the lights will turn off,
click, click,
click,
breathlessly,
we will leave this world behind.

June 12 2010 edit


You’re glad to see me, the two of us and ask do I look good, ruffle my hair, I protest.

I should have grabbed that hand and pulled you close,
so close our lips will touch and bridge the distance
that separates us, like a delicate hand on an elbow,
they will understand, like black tracery on white flesh,
surprise, like a Picault novel stashed under the desk,
pray, like hands clasped together,
lose their way, in a maze of well meaning glances,

and the rain will cease,
the PCs will whir and beep and fall silent,
the lights will turn off,
click, click,
click,
breathlessly,
we will leave this world behind.

Leave a Reply

