complete sentences

I was immediately impressed by the decor. Clean lines and uncluttered. Someone at the pantry was arranging the bar stools just so they were all neatly tucked beside the island-table. There was a foosball table beside the window with a view, and  a pool table somewhere around too. I sat down, took some deep breaths, observed the people walking in and out, wondering what it would be like to be like them.

Sometimes you meet people and you know you’re outclassed. He spoke in complete sentences. Its pretty rare to speak in complete sentences, you usually add clauses to your speech, like a train wreck waiting to happen, and after a while you can’t find a way to tie it off nicely, and it inevitably crashes. He smiled, shook my hand, apologized for being slightly late, and asked if I wanted anything to drink. He put me at my ease by first introducing himself. He sat back on his chair. He had two earrings. His tie was slightly loose. He looked a bit like john terry. I asked a question. Good question, he said reassuringly. I said I couldn’t think of any examples. He prompted me. He controlled the conversation. Where do I get mad skills like that? Is it possible for people to turn it on like a switch, sort of like a schmooze button. Not that I’m saying he was putting on an act. He had a genuine confidence that comes about from knowing that you excel at what you do, and also seemed to be a fun guy to be around.

I think sincerity is something you get by being honest. If you do not mean what you say, people have a way of knowing or finding out, and once that happens, you lose your sincerity. Worse, you lose the power to influence people. No more mad skills.

Leave a Reply

