is anyone looking?

I was totally exhausted after judo
drinking water from the water cooler
just outside the toilet
it was raining slightly
Was anyone looking?
stick out a hand to feel
rain on palm
steal barefoot onto the court
I look around again
then I lie on the cement
the same way I made snow angels in Yosemite or Sierra at Tahoe
remember rushing onto the astroturf to play hujan soccer in the rain
the rain on my face is all the happiness I need for now
the janitor was looking


I was exhausted after judo
so I went to drink at the water cooler
outside the toilet
and I noticed that it was raining slightly outside
is anyone looking?

so I stick out a hand to feel
rain on palm
then steal barefoot  
onto
the
court
and look around

gingerly,
like a snow angel
like a boy belongs on astroturf
like I look so ridiculous
with
back on ground
rain on face
happiness
found

The janitor was looking.
He smiled at me, and I smiled back.

03/07/2008

Leave a Reply

