Croissants

I decided to try something ambitious today. I baked croissants. Its a baking project that takes lots of time and would have scared off most people, my mother included, which is why I decided on doing it. Preparation began yesterday with making the dough and leaving it in the fridge to rest overnight. Today, I made the butter block — made of enormous amounts of butter and a small amount of flour. I’ll skip most of the details, except to say that it involves folding the dough, chilling it, then taking it out, and repeating everything again and again. After about 5 hours, you get croissants. Ghiradelli chocolate croissants, in my case. But they didn’t turn out fluffy enough for some reason. They certainly didn’t look like the big puffy, flaky croissants I had in mind.
Leave a Reply

